Happiness…

0fcb9f043bfefc9937f9b0f8ae92b862On this beautiful Friday morning I want to have a heart-to-heart about being content about life in its current state. If there is one thing I have learned in life, then it’s the fact that you are responsible for your own happiness. No one in this world can make that happen for you. Your happiness is in your own hands. Although there is so many overwhelming happenings out there that influence your emotions, you still the one deciding how it’s going to affect you. Things around us can only hurt us as much as we allow it to.

This morning we experienced a thunder storm of note. Heavy rains and strong winds just at the time that we supposed to get up for work and school. Now this might be a bad thing for so many people especially those using public transport, but I promise you more people in our town will rejoice at the sight and sound of the rain falling. At that moment I chose that I will be happy about the rainy weather outside. I love the sound of the rain, I love walking in the rain at times too. Feeling the drops on my face feels so refreshing, but mostly being snuggled up indoors is oh so dreamy for me

You see, our town has been forced to implement level 3 water restrictions and our dams supplying drinking water is at only 30% full. The state has warned of strict rules that will have to be applied if residents don’t start using water sparingly. As you know the humanity never see the urgency of the matter until it’s too late. So people is still not serious about their water usage. Until it affects them personally they will continue to be ignorant about it. Why am I mentioning this? This is just to illustrate to what extend your mind set can influence the way you respond to life. If you were a person who panic easily this would be a disaster for you. You would gather all the tanks you could get your hands on and collect as much water as possible. Alternatively, if you were a calm and collected person this situation would not affect you at all. You would go about your business peacefully as if nothing is amiss. This goes for every position you find yourself in today. You can either let the problem control you and be anxious about it or you can control the problem from a more stable point of view. Again I will say our problems can only hurt us as much as we allow it to.

For this reason I promised myself that this year I would not partake in any unnecessary drama. I choose to be happy. I choose to make my joy a priority. Do things that excite me, that gives me peace and things that enrich me. My motto this year: Protecting my Peace, No more Drama!!

Sometimes we cause our own drama. Instead of choosing not to attend a pity party or invite to spectacles you go and participate. What does it bring you at the end? Unhappiness. Discontent. Gloom.

Decide what and who you want to be today. We are given enough resources and possibilities.

hapiness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

