A damned mate – a poem by Chanty

Feeling emotionally drained and hurt after reading the newspaper or news feed on Facebook is becoming a regularity for me. I was totally disgusted and saddened by the violence and abuse against yet another woman in a nearby township.

How can we tolerate this kind of obscenities? How can we not raise our voices? I need to speak out against violence and abuse towards women. I want to stand up for the rights of women and girls in our communities that are battling this war. A woman deserves better treatment and greater respect. We have the power to change the things that we don’t agree with. Although I feel insignificant in this war, I cannot stand by like a statue not saying anything about all the violence that occurs right in front of me. I want to do the best I can to make the world a better place for our daughters, our sisters and our community. If change is going to happen it’s going to be up to YOU! ME! US!

Below are some words that came bursting out of my pen…out of my heart.

#EnoughisEnough #Istandagainstabuse

A damned mate – 03 March 2017
So you wake up feeling down because of your own weary frown
Does this make it right for you to cause so much harm?
So the map for your future didn’t work out quite as planned?
Does this make it right for you to be a fright?
So you live your life in the shadows of your sinful past
Does this give you the power to give a blow to her in the shower?
So your upbringing wasn’t up to scratch with your father as match
Does this make it right that she should wear a patch?

So she doesn’t say the things you want to hear
Does this mean she needs to cover out of fear?
So if she gives her opinion on life
Does it mean she stepped out of line?
So your evil forces grows with no control
Does this make her the heir of your beating throne?
So she wears to her crown according to her season
Does this make it ok to be wicked for no reason?

So you inflict manipulation because of your infatuation
So you offend with your comment
So you humiliate and you suffocate
You’re a damned mate

original_don-t-let-anyone-dull-your-sparkle-mug

Fiercely determined Chanty…

17 thoughts on “A damned mate – a poem by Chanty

  1. Yes, change begins with each of us as individuals. One of my favorite quotes from Margaret Mead is this: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The power of the pen is mighty. Who knows who will read what you’ve written, and turn their light back on –> so bright that it casts all darkness away?!

    No one need cower. No one need scream in silent agony. No one need hide their light for fear it too will be taken for granted, or crushed.

    May those that suffer this day, night, week, month, and hopefully not all year, find the inspiration & insightful prose you bring to the page with your mighty [from the heart] pen!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Facebook which should be called Farcebook is so filled with hate, anger, demons, racists, and bigots that I changed my newsfeed so that only certain stories will come through. I also UnFriended and Blocked many people. I refuse to get caught up in the craziness. For Lent I decided to delete most of my alerts from the New York Times as the stories are depressing. My cause is Autism. My brother Stephen has Autism. Fought for Paid Family Leave in New York which will become a reality next year for the state of New York. Right now we in the Autism community are fighting for a decent fair wage for Direct Service Providers. The staff who care for my brother get paid so little that they are leaving in droves. Direct Care Workers need to receive a living wage for the work they do. I doubt if my little voice means much or will make a difference but if I don’t speak up I will be taking early retirement next year because there will be no staff to take care of my brother Stephen.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi, thank you for your reply. It’s truly depressing. I’d like to live in a world where there’s only good stories and like you said not get caught up in the craziness, but then again I also want to know who my enemy is, who it is that I need to protect myself, my sister, my nieces, my daughters against. You and I need to keep on raising our voices. For your brother, for our sisters and everyone being oppressed. Your passion is infectious and I believe by just being here your voice are becoming louder and louder.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Blog Networking: 3/10/17 | Dream Big, Dream Often

  5. I understand how you feel Chanty. There are somethings that I read and I wonder if these are humans or what. I simply can’t get all the hatred and vileness and it increases each day at an alarming rate.

    I honestly don’t get people projecting their misfortunes, failure and all their horrible emotions on someone else. It’s just terrible that these things keep repeating themselves.

    We’ve got to keep talking and change starts with each of us.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you both but as another blogger told me last year after all the shootings of Black Americans is that people don’t care about what does not affect them personally. Sad to say as I thought on his words I realized the truth in his statement.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: Blog Networking: 3/31/17 | Dream Big, Dream Often

  7. Hi,
    I know Jacqueline and SparkyJen. I also know Danny Ray. I met you on his site.
    Are you in the U.S. like I am?
    I think it’s wonderful you are trying to stand up for women. I wore red on International Women’s Day but no one noticed.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need any blogging tips. That’s what I blog about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

