I’m feeling Goooood

“Feeling Good” – Nina Simone

Birds flyin’ high, you know how I feel
Sun in the sky, you know how I feel
Breeze driftin’ on by, you know how I feel
It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me.
Yeah, it’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me, ooooooooh…
And I’m feelin’ good.

Fish in the sea, you know how I feel
River runnin’ free, you know how I feel
Blossom on the tree, you know how I feel
It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me,
And I’m feelin’ good

Dragonfly out in the sun, you know what I mean, don’t you know,
Butterflies all havin’ fun, you know what I mean.
Sleep in peace when day is done: that’s what I mean,
And this old world is a new world and a bold world for me…

Stars when you shine, you know how I feel
Scent of the pine, you know how I feel
Yeah, freedom is mine, and I know how I feel..
It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me
And I’m feelin’… good.

I’m enjoying me some Miss Nina Simone today:-) I knowwww……she’s from waaaaay back in the day. But I’ve got so much love for my selection of music from way back. Especially singers by the likes of Nina. Eunice Waymon, which was the name she was given at birth, was a beautiful person. Her mom was a Methodist minister and when she started her career in singing she changed her name to Nina Simone. Simply to disguise herself from family members who would criticize her for singing “devils music” in a night club. She was a jazz, blues, gospel artist, but also well-known for her civil rights songs. She had a difficult time to live out her passion in a way that she wanted to in those days, but I believe that through her music she lived a full life. She was abused psychologically and physically by her husband hence the famous quote, “You’ve got to learn to leave when love is no longer served”. She had freedom when she was on a stage or behind her piano. I can see why she referred to herself as a rebel with a cause. She was daring and vivacious. She couldn’t be held down by anything or anyone. She stood up for herself as well as for her people. She had an affair with the Prime minister of Barbados and was close friends with Mariam Makeba. She lived all over the world… the USA, Europe and Africa.

This woman is a legend!

Reading about her life makes me feel that women are much stronger than what most people think they are. In her 70 years here on earth she achieved so much, even though she had so many challenges and disappointments that could easily have led her to quit. She kept going and being strong.

What a phenomenal woman!

If Nina can do it…so can you and I. #pursuinggreatness #6weekstomybday

Leave a Reply

